Week Six

Well I achieved all 3 goals with somewhat depressing results (with the exception of one bottle of water on Saturday) – weight gain!

Friday night drinks proved too irresistible so I only managed 6 out of seven days without cigarettes. Felt lousy the next day so will try to resist the urge with more determination this week.The up side of not smoking is that the water is easier to drink – I associate smoking with coffee and tea so have been replacing these drinks with water instead.

As for the weight gain, the most likely culprit – evening meal carb intake and snacking after dinner so… I need to focus on reducing these.

The 4 treadmill sessions went without a hitch – no knee soreness, so I will be picking up the pace soon. For the last 10 percent (3 min) of each session I like to increase the speed by .5kph – my reasoning – if I can’t pick up the pace a little at the end I am going too fast for my fitness level, and to see how I feel going a little faster so I can judge when to increase the speed of an entire session. I am fighting the urge to go faster too soon, and have decided it’s important to allocate the time and get into the routine of commitment to exercise first – without dreading the thought of having to do it by making it too hard.

Goals for Week Seven

  • 5 x 30 min walk jog sessions
  • Drink 2 x 400ml bottles of water per day
  • Daily weigh ins
  • Monitor evening meal intake to avoid snacking
  • Go for 7 days without smoking
