Week Ten – increasing exercise times

It’s amazing how 5 minutes extra exercise can do my head in. I am seriously grumpy.

This week I increased 3 sessions by (only) five minutes and I found myself mentally fighting the new time… hating every extra second – it felt like forever! This is the price to pay for years of doing lots of wrong things, I am now dragging myself kicking and screaming like a 2 year old, back down a long slow path towards fitness, and I am not happy about it at all.

Well I heard the expression “Harden Up Princess” this week and It spoke to me… so onward to week 11 with further increases in times. Grit teeth and move ahead.

My work commitments are full on this week so I am just going to focus on getting the exercise sessions done.

I have been unsuccessful yet again in cutting the weekly smoking session out but I am noticing the benefits of less wine and cigarettes which is great. Last time I was running a lot I found that as my exercise times increased my desire to smoke disappeared naturally and wine started tasting like poison and I stopped both about halfway through training for a half marathon without really trying – maybe that is what I should do – trying to force it is not working.

Goals for Week Eleven

  • 2 x 30 min walk jog sessions (25min at 6.5kph, last 5 min at 7kph)
  • 3 x 40 min walk jog sessions (35min at 6.5kph, last 5 min at 7kph)
